Make your own free website on
World Religion


This is the page where I'll describe myself in more detail.

Home | Buddhism | Christianity | Hinduism | Islam | Judaism


Buddhism was founded in Northern India by the first known Buddha, Siddhartha Gautama. In  Around 560 BC. The major phrophets/ figures are Siddhartha Gautama (Buddha). The Major books of the religion/literature are two different types of Buddhism: Theravada Buddhism, and Mahayana Buddhism. In Theravada Buddhism, the “Three Baskets” ( Tripitaka ), are a triad of writings; the Vinaya Pitaka, Sutta Pitaka, and Abidhamma Pitaka. Mahayana Buddhism holds a number of sacred writings, that hold no particular names.

Four doctrines/beliefs/practices and their explanations:


        Four Noble Truths –


1.     The First Noble Truth: The existence of suffering.

2.     The Second Noble Truth: The cause of suffering.

3.     The Third Noble Truth: The end of suffering.

4.     The Fourth Noble Truth: End of all pain, by way of the Eight-Fold Path.


        The Eight-Fold Path –


1.     Step One: Accept the Four Noble Truths and the Eight-Fold Path.

2.     Step Two: Relinquish pleasures of the senses. Show no ‘ill-will’ towards animals, and humans.

3.     Step Three: Do not abuse anyone with lies; do not hold idle conversations.

4.     Step Four: Do not devastate any existing creatures; take what is given to you and /only/ what is given to you; do not obligate to any illegal, sex-related acts.

5.     Step Five: Earn a living only by means that will not hurt anyone.

6.     Step Six: Work as hard as possible to solve all conflicts. Endeavor to be a perfected person.

7.     Step Seven: Observe, strive, stay alert, and pensive, as well as liberated of sorrow and desire.

8.     Step Eight: When all pleasures, of the sense, have been abandoned, one must enter the ‘Four Degrees of Meditation’; such created by concentration.


        Buddhist Precepts – Five precepts that all Buddhists should follow, are:


1.     Kill nothing living.

2.     Don’t steal.

3.     Don’t consign to adultery.

4.     Don’t lie.

5.     Don’t drink alcohol, or take drugs.


        Precepts of Monks and Nuns – Five precepts that apply to Monks and Nuns:


1.     Eat only that which you need, and when you are supposed to.

2.     Evade events that motivate the senses.

3.     Do not dress yourself in adornments.

4.     Do not sleep in beds of luxury.

5.     Accept no money (silver/gold).


Taking a break from work

What a job!

I might describe my job in a little more detail here. I'll write about what I do, what I like best about it, and even some of the frustrations. (A job with frustrations? Hard to believe, huh?)


Here's a list of some of my favorite music:

Nirvana, Frank Sinatra, Ibrahim Ferrer